Current Year Award Recipients

We are thrilled to present the 2022 Washington State Academy award recipient information!

Link to a program with information on each award, as well as a historical listing of recipients.

The 2022 President's Award recipient is Ben Atkinson.

Ben has exemplified leadership in the profession of dietetics at all times, showing up as a regular mentor and preceptor for newer RDNS or interns, demonstrating the importance of the RDN as a critical part of the clinical care team, and providing his nutrition expertise in school food service management.

In the past years he juggled the particular challenges of the pandemic in continuing to provide for the nutrition and health of students in the Renton school district. Further, you stepped into advocacy for school food and food access by testifying at a hearing on important legislation that would impact student food access and school meal eligibility.

As if that weren't enough, you leveraged that learning to share about your experience, and encourage others in our field to participate in the legislative and advocacy process. You also served as an approachable, encouraging and consistent delegate to our membership in the past several years.

You do this all with humor and humility, and always bring others along with you in advancing the work we do in the field.



WSAND President

Washington State Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics

Thank you for visiting our website!  And welcome to the 2022-2023 year.

I'm excited to serve as your president this year and look forward to getting to know all of you better.

Please reach out to us with any questions - we'll be in touch regularly with news, opportunities and activities.

Nicole Stendell-Hollis, PhD, RDN (2022-23 Washington State President)